MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Construction started, but not cutting yet
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Wed 20 July 2011, 21:54
oliver2257
Just call me: Stephen

Redwood City, CA
United States of America
Progress on Control Panel - Redwood City CA USA

Hello,
I am a returning Mechmate builder. I first started in 2006 or so, had bent steel for the carriage and many things got in the way. I watched with amazement when Fabrica and Donald worked together to get #1 going. I was talking to Mike Ray (Metal Head) about upgrading my parts to the new version with new plans. Conversation got to the reality that getting new would be the best. I was relying on his judgment. It was a great choice. These new parts, not only conforming to the updated plans, are beautifully prepared. UPS must have tossed the package and slightly bent one corner. With some clamps and time, it all just clicked together. All the tabs in place, like a fine jig saw puzzle. I feel Mike has carried the Mechmate along to a new level. Having him as a resource source to me is invaluable. More than once I have purchased parts that almost worked. I do not see this happening here. I have no plans for great innovation. Better minds than mine have been working for some time on this. My opinion, there is a lot more than having the construction plan files. I had those, plans, etc. and still it all gets down to how the parts are cut and bent. Any fees that are now charged are still more than reasonable and I feel one the great bargains available.
I have some cold rolled steel pieces and am using them to square up the carriage. Threaded rod holds it all together, the steel keeps it all straight. Cold Rolled, 5/8” plus thick can be really nice and straight/flat. A light file to remove any dings. Good weight so the parts stay put.