MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > General - MM Build
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Mon 08 December 2008, 17:27
ChiknNutz
Just call me: Chris

PNW
United States of America
Where to start, no really!

Yes, I've read thru quite a bit on here, but after a guy figures out the size and intended use, where do you go from there? I find so many options, alterations, opinions on this and that, ideas to consider, etc. etc. that I am having a hard time making sense of it all. I'm actually a mechanical engineer (also a sign maker), and because of that, I tend to overthink and overbuild things. Seriously, I could spend months on here w/o ever buying a thing just gathering intel if ya know what I mean! I've looked over the plans for the most part, but when the plans are bounced against all the ideas floating around here I kinda get lost. How up-to-date are the plans relative to all this? While I love "getting into the weeds" on things, I really don't have that much time anymore to devote to pouring over every shred of info. So, are the plans good enough as-is for a guy to build a decent rig or do they need to be tempered with the understanding of customizing based on need? Surely, this has been asked a ton before, but I didn't see it answered to my satisfaction. Curious...how many of these are out there now...anybody know for sure? Thanks in advance.
Old Mon 08 December 2008, 17:45
sailfl
Just call me: Nils #12

Winter Park, FL
United States of America
Stop over thinking it and start.

The plans are up to date. They have been used by many users across the world. The advantage of this site over others like CNCZone is that everyone here is building the same machine. The size might be different and there may be some slight modifications but the basic machine is the same. Everyone is following the plans because the plans work. The design is excellent.