MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Mon 13 April 2009, 13:55
robertmonroe
Just call me: Robert

El Paso
United States of America
Want to get started on my 5'x10' working area CNC - El Paso, US

Want to get started on my 5'x10' working area MechMate CNC. Both metal working guys flaked out on me. I'm looking for someone in the El Paso, Texas , USA area who wants to work with me constructing my Router.
Old Mon 13 April 2009, 19:39
jhiggins7
Just call me: John #26

Hebron, Ohio
United States of America
Robert,

Fellow-Texan, I'm happy to help, but too far away for on-site visits.

If you are a Do-it-yourself kind of guy, the MechMate is feasible for you to do yourself. I'm a woodworker, not a metalworker, and I did it.

You will need to do some steel cutting, welding, grinding, drilling and tapping.
These can all be done with reasonably priced tools. A abrasive cut-off saw and angle grinder are must haves. I highly recommend a drill press. Use Craigslist. Get to know your Harbor Freight store. I used Harbor Freight taps for all taps except the Bottom-Hole taps in the X-Rail and Y-Rail. The best thing I did was buy some tapping fluid. Makes a big difference. I didn't break any taps.

You don't have to have a Metal Mill, Metal Lathe or Metal Cutting Bandsaw. I don't.

If you don't want to cut and grind the V-rails, go with pre-ground V-rails.

Get to know the plans. Stick to the plans.

Looking forward to your build. Best of luck.

Regards,
John
Old Tue 14 April 2009, 20:35
robertmonroe

El Paso
United States of America
John, thank you for your encouraging words. I'm not a metal worker and know nothing about welding so that's what's held me back.

What are good palces to find steel?
Old Wed 15 April 2009, 07:07
jhiggins7
Just call me: John #26

Hebron, Ohio
United States of America
Robert,