MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Today's Posts

Old Tue 10 January 2012, 19:09
jd.roberts
Just call me: JD

Mesa, AZ
United States of America
Gonna start a MM this weekend

Hi Everyone,
I teach Industrial tech at the local High School, we have a Centroid Servo Based CNC Router with a lot of bells and whistles, tool changer, 8hp HSD Spindle, 25HP Roots blower, 1.5" phenolic vacuum table, etc.
Anyway I have been using CNC Routers for about 7 years now along with ArtCAM, and now have moved to Vectric Aspire.

I have owned 4 shopbots my last being a PRT Alpha, which I pieced together and made all of my own mechanics, but used SB's template for the design. I used to follow Gerald and Mike over on the SB Forum over the years and have always been impressed by what I read from these guys.

After I helped load my last SB on to the buyers trailer, I had a pit in my stomach, I miss being able to walk out in my garage on a Saturday morning with a cup of coffee to cut some crazy part or cool design.

So, I am now ready to start building a MM, I think most of my intimidation is gone with the mechanics's, however I do have a concern with electronics and motors.

Is there anyone that has put together a ready to go package for motors, controller cables, switches, MPG Etc?

I'm buying my welder and a HD drill press this weekend as well as calling my local steel yards to get the best price on steel.

I also need to order my laser parts and plans.

I would like to get it put together rather fast (couple months on weeknights and weekends)

Thanks for any information.

JD
Old Tue 10 January 2012, 21:19
MetalHead
Just call me: Mike

Columbiana AL
United States of America
Welcome. I have most of what you need for electrics , parts , wire , control box (20x20x8) , heat sinks.

http://www.cvsupply.com/servlet/the-MechMate/Categories