MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Wed 04 March 2009, 03:30
leif
Just call me: Leif

Wellington
New Zealand
Complete Newbie thats me - Wellington, NZ

Heya
im seriously cotemplating creating a mechmate
and im wondering if its possible for it to cut right through a 3/4 inch piece of 12 ply and if the dimensions of the table could be changed to within 5ft by 2 ft

im planning to make longboard decks as i constantly break mine :P
and i plan on gluing ply together bending into shape using clamps and then using the mechmate Cut the board to shape and Route the edges flush

any help would be much appreciated
L

ps
i also quickly glanced at two routers?
i could cut a whoolleee lota decks rather quickly then if they worked in opposite of eachother
one does oneside
the other does the other

ty in advance
Old Wed 04 March 2009, 07:10
bradm
Just call me: Brad #10

Somerville(MA)
United States of America
It is certainly possible to cut through 3/4 ply. There is a range of choices depending on the size of the cutter you use. You could comfortably cut it in three passes with a 1/4" cutter, in two with a 3/8" cutter, and possibly in one with a 1/2" cutter. The power of your router or spindle, the density of the material, and the feed rate need to be taken into account.

Rest assured that it's very common to use a CNC gantry to cut in multiple passes. It can be faster and more accurate than chugging through in a single pass, and it can also give you the opportunity to leave tabs that hold cut pieces in place.

As for two routers, it has been discussed, and it's possible, but you might want to start with just one. You may be surprised at how fast a CNC machine is. You will likely spend more time setting up and removing the workpiece than cutting.