MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Common Assemblies & Parts > Driving Mechanisms: Rack/pinion, gears, screws, belts & chains
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Wed 07 January 2009, 02:23
Nikonauts
Just call me: Nikonauts

Johore
Malaysia
Making your own rack & pinion

How hard is it to machine a rack and pinion?

what kind of machine to use? wirecut?

i met a kind machinist who would do stuff for low price. but i don't want to pay for something unusable.
Old Wed 07 January 2009, 14:34
Jayson
Just call me: Jayson #18

Horsham
Australia
Hi Nikonauts

I am no expert but I would expect that it is easy to machine a rack and pinion, IF you have a machine that is designed to do so.
At the price that rack and pinions are available in most parts of the world I would say just buy it. I have tried to build my machine as economically as possible and rack is expensive in Australia compared to the rest of the world but I still purchased the rack. I have the ability to make rack myself but I did not even attempt it as there are too many opportunities to make a mistake and ruin the whole thing.

This is just my opinion, you may be able to do it, but I wouldn’t.

Jayson.
Old Wed 07 January 2009, 17:23
echnidna
Just call me: bob

Vic
Australia
I'm inclined to think it may be more practical to cast racks from urethane resin rather than machine make them. Obviously you would need a rack to make moulds from.
Old Wed 07 January 2009, 18:23
smreish
Just call me: Sean - #5, 28, 58 and others

Orlando, Florida
United States of America
Is rack really that difficult to get in your part of the world? I paid around 150 dollars for all my rack for a 5' x 10' machine. The urethane resin would far exceed that cost alone.
Old Thu 08 January 2009, 01:07
Nikonauts

Johore
Malaysia
Quote:
Originally Posted by smreish View Post