MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Today's Posts

Old Fri 11 March 2011, 15:30
kb18951452
Just call me: kb18951452

Sunnyvale
United States of America
Hello from Sunnyvale, California

Been kinda thinking here and there on MechMates for 2 years or so. This is my first time to log in wince Feb. 2009, (right before i moved to California).

I currently have a JoeCNC 4x8 Hybrid. Been considering some changes to is, and a friend of mine said "Soon or later is going to make more sense to just build a mechmate." And i must admit, He's right. For the kinds of things i wnat to do, a Mechmate is right of my ally.

I am capable ofwelding (Not very good Yet) And since i already have all the electronics needed for a mechmate (Steppers 3@900oz 1@600oz), And all the accompanieing electronics and software, A Mechmate seems like it might be a pretty good idea. My current machine has some issues i am still working thru (well lets be honest i jsut learned how to baby the thing past the problems, instead of just fixing them).

So, Thought i might get on here, see if i could get some ideas together, maybe start contemplating how much i might need to build one of these things.

I already have the electronics, I think my main project would be the base, and the gantry.
Old Fri 11 March 2011, 15:45
gmcclure
Just call me: Graeme

Geelong
Australia
Welcome Ken, nice Blog on your web site
Old Fri 11 March 2011, 16:37
MetalHead
Just call me: Mike

Columbiana AL
United States of America
Glad to see you have a MechMate in your future !!
Old Fri 11 March 2011, 20:53
domino11
Just call me: Heath

Cornwall, Ontario
Canada
Welcome!
Old Fri 20 May 2011, 21:48
kb18951452

Sunnyvale
United States of America
Been a while.

Want to start feeling out and gathering information for a specific build for my purposes.