MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > General - MM Build
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Mon 23 March 2009, 10:29
Medemt
Just call me: Dan

Avon, IN
United States of America
Need to clear something up on Table size

This may seem elementary to most of you but I would like to clear something as I consider what size table I may want to build.

If I want to be able to to get to the outside edge of a 4' x 8' piece of foam or MDF board, is my Y & X values, to be used in the drawings, 1219mm (Y) & 2438mm (X), or do I have to add 50mm to each of these numbers for the two inches on either side? If my numbers are not even close please feel free to critique.

I am very new to CNC and I plan on starting with the kitchen table set up at the appropriate time, but I may want to get some metal work done since we have a full fabrication shop available.

This is a fantastic website and there are some very knowledgeable people on this forum. Thank you in advance

Dan
Old Mon 23 March 2009, 11:34
smreish
Just call me: Sean - #5, 28, 58 and others

Orlando, Florida
United States of America
Dan,
The plans as drawn already accommodate the extra 2" buffer zone. Just follow the math x+/y+. You do not need to add more unless you choose to. The intention from Gerald's plans was for the table to use large shaping cutters if necessary and allow for this cutting area.
My own personal choice would have me rebuild my table to handle 5' x 12' MDF. I currently have a 5' x 10' table and wish I had that extra 2 feet lately!

Good luck.
Sean
Old Mon 23 March 2009, 13:47
Medemt

Avon, IN
United States of America
Sean,

Thanks for the response and for the insight. I was kind of thinking about up sizing a bit to a 5' x 10'. As I have read in other posts, the additional costs are certainly worth it - the only real issue is space availability.