MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Electrical & Electronic > 701. Motor Drives
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Sun 15 March 2009, 03:54
Francois
Just call me: Francois

Springs
South Africa
QJ8060 Drive from CW-Motors

Hi my name is Francois and I am a newbie to MM.
I’ve been to Kobus place to sea an actual MM and it is most impressive.

My questions is what makes a good driver, are we looking for a driver witch can handle high amps. Will this driver work what am I suppose to be looking for in a driver
Attached Files
File Type: pdf QJ8060.pdf (570.6 KB, 208 views)
Old Sun 15 March 2009, 09:30
Richards
Just call me: Mike

South Jordan, UT
United States of America
Depending on the motor that you choose to use, the QJ8060 stepper driver looks pretty good. After Gerald told me about the Gecko stepper drivers a few years ago, I have only used Gecko products. They do everything that I expect them to do at a reasonable cost.

The unit that you're interested in has selectable microstepping. The 1/10 setting would be my choice - based on the Gecko. With a PK296A2A-SG7.2 motor wired unipolar (half-coil), I would use the 3.14A setting instead of the 2.57A setting.

The unit requires a common 5VDC, similar to the Gecko G201 and G202 modules. So you would connect the CP+ terminal and the CW+ terminal to +5VDC. You would connect CP- to your step pulse signal (active LOW). You would connect the CW- terminal to your direction signal. The current draw for the step and direction signals would be about 15mA, which is the same as a Gecko G201 or G202.

Pay close attention to the voltage warning of 70VDC maximum; however the PK296A2A motor only requires about 35V to 40V. Also, regardless of the motor's current draw, mount the stepper drivers on a good heat sink to keep them from getting too hot.