MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Sat 16 January 2010, 13:50
SumBum
Just call me: Jay (Bum)

PA
United States of America
Upgrading the spindle already! - Myerstown PA USA

Hello Everyone,

I'm a violin maker who recently had back surgery. I've been looking for something to help me with the rough carving to enable me to continue making violins. I thought of building a duplicarver but saw a cnc mill and got excited about the idea.

I thought of building one of the 8020 extruded machines but like the idea of this all steel machine. It may be a bit overkill but my wife already has a million projects for me to make with this machine once done.

I am new to cnc so bear with my questions.
Old Sat 16 January 2010, 14:35
domino11
Just call me: Heath

Cornwall, Ontario
Canada
Welcome to the forum. Are you sure you do not want to pick a better name to be called by?
Old Sat 16 January 2010, 15:29
sailfl
Just call me: Nils #12

Winter Park, FL
United States of America
Bum,

It will be great to see a fine musical instrument made with a MechMate. Good luck with your build.

How large of a machine are you thinking of making?
Old Sat 16 January 2010, 15:56
SumBum

PA
United States of America
Quote:
Originally Posted by sailfl View Post
Bum,

It will be great to see a fine musical instrument made with a MechMate. Good luck with your build.

How large of a machine are you thinking of making?
I'm thinking of a cutting area of 96" x 48" I sometimes make toys and such for kids out of maple plywood. Carriages, Rocking chairs etc. Just cut on my bandsaw and then routed. The cnc would make em in bulk.. .

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino11 View Post
Welcome to the forum. Are you sure you do not want to pick a better name to be called by?
Trust me.. The name Fits.
Old Sat 16 January 2010, 15:59
domino11