MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Wed 29 June 2011, 03:18
shern_0711
Just call me: RJ

Louisiana
United States of America
A point in the right direction

Hello all! I am new to the cnc world and need a point in the right direction. I am looking to build a cnc that has a 4' x 8' cutting area. I want to be able to cut wood so I can make molds for fiberglass and do custom wood work. I have been doing alot of research and its alot of information...lol. And still have alot more to do! I am looking for plans with part lists. It needs to be able to cut 3d designs. Three axes will do. If anyone can point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated. If any more information is needed please let me know. Thank you in advance to all who respond.
Old Wed 29 June 2011, 03:30
aussie_mick
Just call me: Mick

Nowra
Australia
RJ

You have come to the right place. The MechMate plans are available for purchase from the web site.

The beauty of the MechMate is that the size is up to you. All is explained in the plans as well as many threads within the forum.

I am also building a machine the same size as you are looking at. I will be using it to cut wood for childrens toys.

Welcome to the site and journey.

Mick
Old Wed 29 June 2011, 03:41
KenC
Just call me: Ken

Klang
Malaysia
It is easy to just ask for a BOM, but since you can custom the design to an great extend no 2 builder will have the same BOM at any one time.
With MM, BOM is one very important task a builder should assemble himself, this exercise ensures the builder understand what he/she is doing before the 1st purchase.
IMHO, one of the factors which made the MM design shine is the requirement for the builder to finesse his own BOM... Please correct me if I'm wrong.
Old Wed 29 June 2011, 09:19
MetalHead
Just call me: Mike