MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Fri 04 December 2015, 19:17
wncranger
Just call me: Ranger

Phoenix, AZ
United States of America
New to CNC in Phoenix, AZ

Greetings and Salutations to All,

I'm really interested in designing an uav with FPV for agricultural use. I also would like to put everything into the public domain for educational and recreational usage. I have been researching CNC Hotwire and routers and am quite overwhelmed. Im also a bit long winded so forgive me.

A little bit about me, I'm a disabled veteran with a degree in computer and electronic engineering. Living on a fixed income is challenging but I want to give something back to students and educators and my fellow veterans and for all who are interested. My interests are not commercial. I don't want any money as that defeats the purpose entirely. I will need help, though! This is all new to me but I love to learn and to share what I've learned.

I don't have a website yet but will use whatever resources I can find on the Internet to publish updates, progress, etc.

The aircraft I am designing will have a payload capacity of 25 to 30 pounds and the total weight will be > 55 pounds. I'm designing for gas engines and/or electric. The airframe will made of composit materials and I'm aiming for a 3+ hour flight duration. The design is based on gliders and sailplanes.

I'm not an aeronautical engineer so forgive me if my terminology is wrong and I encourage debate and discussion of my design. My desire is to learn and in turn pass on what I've learned along with the help of others.