MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Structure & Mechanics > 50. Toolheads
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Fri 14 August 2009, 04:33
silverdog
Just call me: Sergio #70

Rome
Italy
VFD usage

Hi, I have no experience with VFD, so I ask this question:
I will buy a VFD plus a spindle, I understand the usage and the utility of the VFD for the spindle .... but the spindle can also be conected directly to the current ? or they are native for the use with a VFD ? I ask this because I wonder if I can use VFDs for other tools, In detail I have a professional 3ph bench drill wich has only 4 mechanical speeds ...... will I be able to have more control over speeds with a VFD ?
thanks
Old Fri 14 August 2009, 04:46
gixi
Just call me: Marius (AVO) #32

Bucharest
Romania
Send a message via Yahoo to gixi
Buy from the Italian dealer from where I also get a spindle with VFD and this guy was kind enough to make all the setings. He even install the wires. It's the shortcut .
Old Fri 14 August 2009, 05:04
Alan_c
Just call me: Alan (#11)

Cape Town (Western Cape)
South Africa
Send a message via Skype™ to Alan_c
The spindle can be connected directly but it will have only one speed (and I think that will be quite slow) To get the benefit of a spindle you must use the VFD.

For your bench drill it is possible to add a VFD to the existing motor to give you greater speed control - speak to your supplier to match the correct unit for your motors capacity.
Old Fri 14 August 2009, 07:15
silverdog

Rome
Italy
Thank you Marius and Alan
Old Fri 14 August 2009, 07:33
bradm
Just call me: Brad #10

Somerville(MA)
United States of America
Whoa! I don't think you can connect a spindle directly unless it's HZ rating matches the powerline, which is unlikely.

A typical 2.2KW spindle would be rated for 240v, 8a per phase, 400Hz, 24000 RPM

A typical three phase powerline would be rated for 240v, 50 or 60Hz.