MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Today's Posts

Old Tue 14 January 2014, 21:34
srange
Just call me: Sam

Lancaster (CA)
United States of America
Precision mold-making build -- Lancaster, CA, USA

I've lurked here for a few months, and have decided to pull the trigger. I'm an aerospace engineer in the Mojave desert, and I'm looking for a tool to build RC aircraft molds and ultralight aircraft parts. I have a few hundred hours operating 3- and 5-axis mills, am fluent in MasterCAM and HyperMILL, but will be picking up welding and control electronics for this project.

I know MM was originally intended for high-throughput, low-precision work, but it looks to me like one of the most rigid frames on the market, with a top-notch community. I think that's as good a starting point as I can hope for, but I expect non-trivial custom work and tweaking to get the performance I'm looking for.

Desired performance:

- Buttery smooth 3-axis profiling
- Roughly 5' x 10' plus a bit (3150 x 1625 mm)
- About 18" Z-stroke (450 mm): likely based on a beefed-up version of smreish's extended z-slide work http://www.mechmate.com/forums/showt...p?t=920&page=3
- Rigid enough to cut epoxy-impregnated MDF full depth at 2mm depth-of-cut, less than 100 ipm feed, with pass-to-pass consistency around 0.0005" (0.013mm)
- Global position repeatability after full-axis traverse less than 1mm (returning to a point -- I realize rails will not be this perfect. I need precision for surface finish, not unphysical dimensional accuracy)
- Sufficient power to hog MDF at all z-depths with 1/2" bit, 50% engagement, 1in cut depth, no rigidity requirement
- Ability to 2-axis cut 1/8" 6061 sheet at top of z-depth
- Jog speed at least 100 ipm (more is always nice)

Current planned components:

- Belt reduction drive, at least 4:1 (more?)
- 2.2 KW spindle