MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > MechMates already cutting
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Mon 21 May 2007, 05:58
J.R. Hatcher
Just call me: J.R. #4

Wilmington, North Carolina
United States of America
Send a message via Skype™ to J.R. Hatcher
May JR's legacy continue #4 - North Carolina, USA

I started on my 4' X 8' MechMate Router May 15 2007. I know I'm going to have lots of fun and probably even some serious challenges but it will be worth it, because I'll end up with the CNC router i've been dreaming about for 8 years. Thanks in advance for all the help. I see it passed out everyday on this forum, thanks. I promise to update often with pictures. J.R.
Old Mon 21 May 2007, 10:45
Marc Shlaes
Just call me: Marc

Cleveland, OH
United States of America
Send a message via Skype™ to Marc Shlaes
J.R.,

Is that 4x8 approximate? I assume that your cutting size will handle US MDF at 49x97 inches with a little to spare. If so, can you tell me exactly what will be the finished length of your X and Y rails?

Thanks,

Marc Shlaes

Last edited by Marc Shlaes; Mon 21 May 2007 at 10:49..
Old Mon 21 May 2007, 11:23
J.R. Hatcher

United States of America
Marc, you are right the 4' X 8' will probably be more like 50" X 100". And yes as soon as i figure out those length i will share that info and more with you. thanks J.R.
Old Mon 21 May 2007, 11:29
Gerald D
Just call me: Gerald (retired)

Cape Town
South Africa
Repeated from somewhere else:

In the plans, I give dimensions of rails, racks, gantry beams, etc. as X_plus_1234 or Y_plus_567 where X and Y refer to board size. The MechMate will be capable of moving 50mm (2") more in all directions. ie. a 100mm (4") diam cutter will travel just clear of the spoilboard, while a smaller cutter can have up to 50mm (2") breathing space off the edge of the support/spoilboard. (Only valid for a single router).