MechMate CNC Router Forum

MechMate CNC Router Forum (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/index.php)
-   Construction started, but not cutting yet (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=77)
-   -   Has all parts to make motors turn, also limit switches - Port-au-Prince, Haiti (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/showthread.php?t=442)

stefanv Mon 17 September 2007 20:30

Has all parts to make motors turn, also limit switches - Port-au-Prince, Haiti

Hi all!

My name is Stefan, I live in Haiti in the Caribbean where I moved in 1983 from Belgium. I graduated there as an industrial engineer electronics. Though electronics has always been a hobby of mine, it was never my main occupation. But I love to play around and design electronic boards. I’ve got the shop and the tools. All this got me going on CNC. So far I build a smaller, cheap, cnc table using one of Kleinbauers (http://www.crankorgan.com/) designs. Fun, but not a lot of power. So I started to work towards building a Mechmate.

First and foremost; thanks Gerald! Your plans are fantastic and the documentation of your build has proven inspiring to many. I hope to be honored with one of your serials numbers in few months. :)

In Haiti we can get nothing regarding CNC. Everything I need comes from the US. Import of goods is difficult. So my build is slow as I bring in some parts from time to time combining shipments with my factory’s goods. At this time I do have all the parts to build the controller and make the motors spin. I didn’t get Vexta’s yet, but I have some KL34H280-45-4A from Kelling (620 oz 4V 4.5Amp). Once I have the Mechmate up and proven, I’ll upgrade to Vextas. Anyway, in the next few weeks I hope to finish the controller. Main parts are;
- 700VA 54V 14Amp Torroidal power supply
- Bob Campbell Break out board rev 1.8
- Bob Campbell parallel relay board
- 4 Geckos G202