MechMate CNC Router Forum

MechMate CNC Router Forum (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/index.php)
-   Graphics & CAD (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Does a generic freeware replacement for AutoCAD exist yet? (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5310)

Gerald D Thu 20 October 2016 00:17

Does a generic freeware replacement for AutoCAD exist yet?
 
Hi Guys

Greetings from the land of the lazy . . . . it is now really time to hang up the hat and quit my day job in the waste industry. Looking forward to my last daily commute of 60 miles and just pottering about from home. (turned 61 this year). Looking for stuff to keep me occupied, and CAD from home is definitely on the cards. But I won't pay for AutoCAD. (yes, I know it can be copied *free* but want to consider legal options available today). I might run classes for the older guys in my neighborhood who want to convert from pencil to CAD and that must be on a CAD system than can be publically advertised and endorsed. (Our city now requires building plans to be submitted electronically and that has caught the older architects on the wrong foot)

So, are there any generic freeware AutoCAD lookalikes out there today? (I still only work in 2D with very basic commands - which is fine for teaching newbies to CAD)

lonestaral Thu 20 October 2016 00:21

This one comes to mind.
Never used it though

http://www.sketchup.com/

Some on here to look at
http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/free-cad-software/

racedirector Thu 20 October 2016 01:55

Draftsight is free as an Autocad replacement, used it for a while until I got a free licence for Autocad 2016. Also, while not CAD per se Fusion 360 is a great tool to creating stuff in plus it has CAM features as well.

Enjoy your retirement Sir, you have well earned it.

ger21 Thu 20 October 2016 18:01

Yes, Draftsight has been the most recommended AutoCAD clone for several years now.

Gerald D Fri 21 October 2016 00:20

Thanks guys

Posting here has brought back lots of memories! :)

MetalHead Sat 22 October 2016 00:12

Hello Gerald !! Hope all is well.

I have used and like solid edge 2D.

https://www.plm.automation.siemens.c...d-edge/free2d/

racedirector Mon 24 October 2016 06:11

Had a look at SolidEdge 2D, very nice, Parametric too! Have downloaded it to give it a go for basic Cad duties, Thx Mike!

sphericos Tue 25 October 2016 15:27

I will add another vote for draftsight. I did CAD design on ACAD starting at version 8 and stopped using it altogether sometime around version 14. The think I really like about draftsight is it's command compatability with ACAD. All the single letter shortcuts I used to use in ACAD work in draftsight. The only real weakness it has is it does not have any proper 3d capability but for 2d drafting I have found it the most productive solution for me.

Gerald D Wed 26 October 2016 23:26

I am being stumped by a well-known registration problem for DraftSight 16. See:
https://forum.solidworks.com/thread/84937

MetalHead Thu 27 October 2016 05:09

Gerald - Do you have your PC set to allow pop-ups for that site?

MetalHead Thu 27 October 2016 05:10

If your setting this up on a laptop, try going to another location. ISP may be blocking something.

Gerald D Thu 27 October 2016 13:10

Popups are off, privacy is off, location enabled. At 2 different computers at 2 sites with 2 ISPs.

kaartman Fri 28 October 2016 11:30

Hello Gerald, welcome back plus happy retirement, have a look at Delta Cad @30 USD

Gerald D Fri 28 October 2016 13:13

I like that DraftSight, set to Classic mode, gives me the same look and feel as AutoCAD. Having used AutoCAD daily for about 30 years, I use it without thinking. I have successfully taught AutoCAD to many people, but it isn't an affordable system out here where minimum wage is about $4 an hour. I can teach AutoCAD, or an exact equivalent . . . . I don't want to learn another CAD just for the sake of teaching it.

sphericos Fri 28 October 2016 15:45

I have used draftsight for a few years and never had an activation issue but there are a couple of things that come to mind and may be worth trying if you have not already.
1) Turn of the windows firewall if on whilst trying to activate.
2) Make sure the user you are logged in as has full admin rights.

pblackburn Sat 05 November 2016 09:17

I started with Autocad however now I do everything in Rhino. Easy to pick up if you already know Autocad and it can export to most of the known popular most expensive systems. I bought it straight from McNeel however it can be gotten for less from distributors like Novedge.

IamDave Fri 28 April 2017 00:13

You should look at http://freecadweb.org/

MetalHead Sun 30 April 2017 05:39

You should also look at Fusion 360

http://www.autodesk.com/products/fusion-360/overview

Web based and free to most users


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 00:12.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.