MechMate CNC Router Forum

MechMate CNC Router Forum (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/index.php)
-   MechMates already cutting (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=78)
-   -   Cutting quiexxxxx nevermind #104 - Kansas USA (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2613)

JamesJ Thu 04 March 2010 19:08

Cutting quiexxxxx nevermind #104 - Kansas USA

Looking forward to building my MechMate! I'm a avid woodworker and a passable welder with a son who welds like a madman. Looks like sonny has some welding to do.

MetalHead Thu 04 March 2010 19:28

Welcome to the group !! Looking forward to your build.

riesvantwisk Thu 04 March 2010 20:18

Welcome to the group Jim!

Browse the forum, read the PDF's, browse the forum, read the PDF's ask question... read.... you will have some fun there with your son.

Ries

Felton Mon 08 March 2010 04:52

hi welcome to the forum.

JamesJ Mon 08 March 2010 19:51

Thanks to everyone for the encouragement.

JamesJ Mon 08 March 2010 20:11

Sighting the line - Kansas USA

5 Attachment(s)
I started on my control box. I also received my laser cut parts and have machined some parts on my Logan 10" lathe. I purchased a gear blank and intend to try my luck at cutting gears out of it. :) I have attached a few pics...

Drad98_98 Mon 08 March 2010 20:54

Good luck Jim, I just finished mine, had a great time building it. There is a wealth of infomation and very knowledgable people on here that will help in a minutes notice, it is what made my build so enjoyable.

Gerald D Mon 08 March 2010 22:50

Jim, is that a South Bend lathe? :)

JamesJ Tue 09 March 2010 04:24

No, it is a Logan 10" toolroom lathe. It's on the small side but I still find plenty of uses for it.

MetalHead Tue 09 March 2010 06:16

That is a sweet lathe. Did you restore it? Or was it that cherry when you bought it?

I am currently looking for a nice lathe, but I want a larger one. I have a 10x22 Grizzly that has worked great for what I paid for it.