MechMate CNC Router Forum

MechMate CNC Router Forum (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/index.php)
-   50. Toolheads (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Drilling LOTS of holes in wood (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5689)

ChuckS Sun 06 January 2019 14:20

Drilling LOTS of holes in wood
 
Hi All,

One of my customers has need for custom pegboard. I just cut 17,000 holes in 5 sheets of 3/4" ply. I was in a hurry, and just put a 1/4" bit in my spindle. This is not good for the spindle. They are paying me enough to be worthwhile :D

Does anybody have an easy solution for mounting a drill or two to the z axis? There may be enough $$ flying around for a good solution, if anybody has any ideas.

Thanks!

MarkRH Mon 07 January 2019 05:15

Have had the same question Chuck, second z slide with a small drill motor would be nice but I dont know the software would work? Ive seen that set up on a homebuilt machine using vectric and mach.

ChuckS Mon 07 January 2019 08:03

I'm looking at adding a pair of spindles like linked below. Does anybody have any wisdom as to what powers these? I'm assuming a VFD. I'll message the company to see if I can get an info sheet or something. Linky: https://www.ebay.com/itm/ER20-Spindl...cfe9%7Ciid%3A1



Mark- what software questions do you have? Mach3 has a few different canned cycles for drilling (G81 & more), and offsets can be handled by using different offsets (G54, g55, etc)

sphericos Mon 07 January 2019 15:27

I could be wrong but looking at those spindles and the price I do not think they are self contained. I think the shaft would need to be fixed to a rotary power source of some kind. They do not seem to have any kind of wiring so a VFD would not help without a 3phase spindle to connect to the shaft and then why would you need this.

ChuckS Mon 07 January 2019 16:18

Aha! The lightbulb over my head went on!

MarkRH Tue 08 January 2019 02:22

Chuck my question would be how to control a second z with just a small drill on it, is it possible with mach? I looked at a used homebuilt machine yrs ago that had that setup but didnt get into specifics of how he reset z to make it drill?

ger21 Tue 08 January 2019 18:20

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkRH View Post
Chuck my question would be how to control a second z with just a small drill on it, is it possible with mach?
There are lots of ways to do it, but it depends on how you implement it.
I've been working on a dual Z axis router for a looong time, and was originally going to use Mach3, but have since switched to UCCNC.
My plan is to use the M6 macro to apply offsets, and swap axis.
You could add a piggyback spindle to the existing Z axis and raise and lower it with a pneumatic cylinder. That's probably the easiest way.

ger21 Tue 08 January 2019 18:23

Shopbot offers an Air Drilling head, but it's $1750.

MarkRH Wed 09 January 2019 15:02

Thanks for your reply Ger, I dont understand macro's yet, the piggyback spindle sounds like a option, how would the drill being lowered by the air cylinder know its center? or can you apply offsets in the drill toolpathing program to compensate for that? and I guess the air cylinder would lower it and hit a stop? it would be awesome to have a simple dedicated drill motor mounted as a piggyback even if it were a reg small 3450 with a drill chuck on the shaft.

ger21 Wed 09 January 2019 15:31

Quote:
how would the drill being lowered by the air cylinder know its center?
You'd have the tool change macro call an offset.
Quote:
and I guess the air cylinder would lower it and hit a stop?
Yes.

MarkRH Thu 10 January 2019 16:11

Found a old thread on air drill, Ger you are in it!
http://www.mechmate.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228
Chuck did you ever think of stacking the sheets? if it was pegboard with the same layout , could have worked?


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 15:30.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.