MechMate CNC Router Forum

MechMate CNC Router Forum (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/index.php)
-   Utility software (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Trying to do this type of fluting... (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3620)

kanankeban Sat 24 December 2011 15:06

Trying to do this type of fluting...
 
5 Attachment(s)
Hello,
Does someone knows how to acomplish this type of fluting. Im usiung Aspire, and 3DCarve...they both have fluting options, but only two ways to get in an out of the wood, 1. start and finish, and in porcentage...It will be nice if it had a random option to go in and out, or other option you can specify point of entry and exit in between the lines...
Does any one knows a software that can do this?

danilom Sun 25 December 2011 16:02

Try using the "texture toolpath" option in Aspire its right next to the fluting toolpath

ger21 Mon 26 December 2011 10:14

1 Attachment(s)
I made some 4x10 MDF panels like this using AutoCAD to draw the actual toolpaths. It took several hours of trial and error to get the look right, but they came out great.

I'm not aware of any software that can create panels like these.

smreish Mon 26 December 2011 12:01

..That type of detail is a very special trade secret for those that take the time to develop the tool paths.

It is a beautiful look, but requires A LOT of time (as you know) to build those 3D paths.

Go way back into the archives and you will see Gerald & CAM CRAFT making these panels many years ago. Wavy patterns are difficult to get right - but once you do - it's awesome! YouTube has a number of videos up showing these being created by MechMate #1

WTI Mon 26 December 2011 12:59

1 Attachment(s)
The Resolution CD player has cool waves similar to that CNCd into the aluminum on its lid.

Jason Marsha Tue 27 December 2011 05:19

I saw something similar in Ucancam software.

http://www.ucancam.com/en.asp

danilom Tue 27 December 2011 06:13

As I said before the Aspire can do that easily here is the simple tutorial
http://www.3dmodelclub.com/cmsj15/im...Background.pdf

If you draw your own vectors and use them to make the toolpath then you can define the shape dunes just like you want it.

kanankeban Wed 28 December 2011 11:37

Quote:
Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
I made some 4x10 MDF panels like this using AutoCAD to draw the actual toolpaths. It took several hours of trial and error to get the look right, but they came out great.

I'm not aware of any software that can create panels like these.
Very nice work, what bit did you use?

ger21 Wed 28 December 2011 14:58

I believe it was a 1" diameter core box bit, with a 5/8" stepover, cut in one pass at full depth (on a machine with a 10HP spindle).

When viewed from the top, the toolpaths appear as straight lines, as only the X and Z values changed across the panel.

kanankeban Wed 28 December 2011 19:32

I found which software will make this easy...but :o its very expensive...enroute 4 pro will do it with it rapid texture tool, price is about $2500 to $3000 just to much!!!

danilom Thu 29 December 2011 01:26

Does anyone reads my posts, if you have Aspire its all you need
here is the video tutorial
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sb5_PpXcjFk
http://www.cnc.rs/mechmate/texturing.jpg

smreish Thu 29 December 2011 05:21

Danilo,
First, yes we have read your post's and they are very correct and instructional. For myself, and like many others, we don't own Aspire.

The contours that are "just recently" available in Aspire (and Artcam) were never available and not easy to create. Thus, the reason I put in a former post that those are "trade secret" items.

For me, for the past 10+ years, that type of profile required me to build a 3d spline path in Autocad and then export to a tool file. It took days to create a texture that could be tiled and repeated on any of the machines in our shop.

Thank you for showing us the "easy" way of creating these textures. A definite plus to owning another Vectric product.

danilom Thu 29 December 2011 05:28

I posted about using Aspire as the Hector who asked the question said:
" Im usiung Aspire, and 3DCarve...they both have fluting options,...."

They could be created in million other ways but as he owns Aspire I suggested that :)
If someone without Aspire would like me to make some texture toolpath feel free to ask!

kanankeban Thu 29 December 2011 08:50

Quote:
Originally Posted by danilom View Post
I posted about using Aspire as the Hector who asked the question said:
" Im usiung Aspire, and 3DCarve...they both have fluting options,...."

They could be created in million other ways but as he owns Aspire I suggested that :)
If someone without Aspire would like me to make some texture toolpath feel free to ask!
Any clues how to solve a wave pattern in aspire and how to make it tileable?

ger21 Thu 29 December 2011 14:43

Quote:
Originally Posted by danilom View Post
Does anyone reads my posts, if you have Aspire its all you need
If you want to create basic textures, then yes, but the really nice ones, with curved textures, cannot be done in aspire. I don't believe you can come close to the sample that I posted just using Aspire.
Try these in Aspire:
http://www.interlam-design.com/Art_P....cfm?id=COP008
http://www.interlam-design.com/Art_P....cfm?id=COP802
http://www.interlam-design.com/Art_P....cfm?id=COU001
http://www.interlam-design.com/Art_P...fm?id=COU001x2
http://www.interlam-design.com/Art_P....cfm?id=SOU009

kanankeban Thu 29 December 2011 16:04

Quote:
Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
If you want to create basic textures, then yes, but the really nice ones, with curved textures, cannot be done in aspire. I don't believe you can come close to the sample that I posted just using Aspire.
Try these in Aspire:
http://www.interlam-design.com/Art_P....cfm?id=COP008
http://www.interlam-design.com/Art_P....cfm?id=COP802
http://www.interlam-design.com/Art_P....cfm?id=COU001
http://www.interlam-design.com/Art_P...fm?id=COU001x2
http://www.interlam-design.com/Art_P....cfm?id=SOU009
Oh my GOD!!! Beautifull work...Wonder what software do they use...and guess they use a really big industrial router!!!

danilom Thu 29 December 2011 16:31

One thing I learned is that industry keeps things simple so they can produce fast. No matter how complicated it looks its always some simple method behind. Like this panel,
just use constant profile pass and vary the width between passes and you will get the effect (done this by tracing the centerline):
http://www.cnc.rs/mechmate/curved_panel1.png
http://www.cnc.rs/mechmate/curved_panel2.png

Aspire file

others can be produced just like this one, the random ones need a bit work to make the wanted effect by using passes that interfere with each other

polishpickle Fri 30 December 2011 11:29

I like to use the texture pictures that come with autodesk 123d that is a free download. In Aspire and use the create a component from bitmap and import the texture that I like. Very easy to do.

lunaj76 Sat 07 January 2012 20:58

Hey Guys,

I am looking to make textured panels like these also. I have Vcarvepro and am just using the texture toolpath option. The tutorials on the Vectric web site helped me alot. I know that with Enroute you can do parametric textured panels.

I called Interlam and they told me that some of their designs take up to 6 hours to cut on their huge industrial routers.

lunaj76 Sun 08 January 2012 07:55

Hi Danilo,

Could you save that file you posted as a vcarvepro file and repost?

Thanks,

Justin

danilom Sun 08 January 2012 12:38

Sorry but Aspire can't save file for vcarve. here are the vectors I used
www.cnc.rs/mechmate/curved_panel.eps
size is metric in mm and for this size I entered 23mm ballnose, play around with different sizes and curves.

lunaj76 Sun 08 January 2012 20:45

This will work. Thanks! I just finished my first install of some textured panels on a bar front. Once they are painted I will post pics.

silverdog Fri 13 January 2012 09:22

1 Attachment(s)
Very interessing thread ! :-)
Can't remember where I learned ... but there is a very good method that you can use with all the software ....
This is an alternative to the Danilo's method in post #17. The difference is that the height of the pass is variable.
The method consist in tracing two vectors that will be closed at the end, let's call rail 1 and rail 2, then you will copy&paste rail 2 in a second layer (layer B) but exactly in the same position (rail 2b),now you will trace a 3d vector on layer B and you will close this vector with rail 2b, copy rail 3b and paste it on the 1st layer (A) , trace "rail 4" on layer A ecc. ecc.
When you have enough "rail" you will Vcarve those rails in two different toolpaths, one for layer A and one for layer B. You have to use a Ball mill that is at least bigger than the maximum distance of yours "rails".
The effect of this method is to have a depth proportional to the distance of the two coupled "rails".
Hope my english is understandable ( my explanation too :o ).If not .... A small example worth many words :)

lunaj76 Sun 15 January 2012 22:17

Waves
 
1 Attachment(s)
Does it look like this?

silverdog Mon 16 January 2012 02:40

Quote:
Originally Posted by lunaj76 View Post
Does it look like this?
yes and no ....
the ball mill should be bigger .... try 40mmm or 2"inch ....

silverdog Mon 16 January 2012 03:18

At least if I see well your pictures :o ... if the darker areas are shadows it's ok , if are uncutted material then you should enlarge the ballmill.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 00:54.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.