PDA

View Full Version : Max. speed of the MechMate - moving, cutting, jogging . . . .

sprayhead
Thu 08 May 2008, 02:13
Although this thread started on 3D machining, later posts discuss standard cutting & jogging speeds . . . .

Hi Guys,

For 3D contouring, what would be the the fastest feed possible with the Beast?

Francis

Gerald D
Thu 08 May 2008, 02:28
I have no experience of this, but I believe that the limiting factor is your CAM software (and the computer processor power) that is controlling the motors.

sprayhead
Tue 13 May 2008, 03:43
Hi Gerald

Apart from the frequency limit from the computer/CAM software I believe that there would be a limit established by the actual milling operation? Say... until the motors start loosing steps or heating up too much, I suppose.

Here comes a new thought... What kind of maximum cutting force can the mechmate operate until it gets to a point where it starts to loose steps or forcing the motors too much? And actually, how do you know that you are loosing steps? :confused:

Doug_Ford
Tue 13 May 2008, 16:47
Sprayhead,

I've lost steps a couple of times when I was doing stupid/crazy stuff. When I was jogging the gantry at 24 inches per second, I lost steps. The way I knew was that it made a LOUD noise and locked up. The other time I lost steps, I was using a slightly dull 1/4" carbide endmill, cutting 3/4" mdf at full depth and the feed speed was 6 inches per second. That time, I didn't hear anything and it didn't lock up but the design was distorted.

dmoore
Sat 17 May 2008, 23:39
I just completed my MechMate enough to get it cutting (still have to do eletrical, dust management, painting, etc) and without any tuning or adjustment, I was able to get it to cut at 210 inchs/min. Here is the link to the YouTube video:

http://www.youtube.com/v/jGmz7CSeJqc

(sorry for the quality - YouTube cuts it down)

Robert M
Sun 18 May 2008, 01:08
Very exiting & motivating… Thanks for sharing
Keep those videos & more pics in !