PDA

View Full Version : truecnc.com - Houston, Texas

dmoore
Sun 27 April 2008, 15:41
Thread was closed and archived on David's request approx end-June 2008. Due to some later friction, I took away his posting privileges. On 30 July it transpired that he had re-invented himself as TrueCNC. A new thread on TrueCNC was moved to the bottom of this thread . . . .

Let me first introduce myself - I am David and I live in Houston Texas (actually near the Woodlands), in the US. I am a fulltime software engineer for a large chemical company. In my spare time, I build mostly art projects - art cars and sculptures in metal. In the fall of 2007, I finished my new 1,300 sq/ft workshop that now allowed me to have enough space to pursue CNC. I spent tons of time on cnczone.com looking at all the options for a plasma/router combo table. I came along the plans for the MechMate but I knew that I would have a long road to go down with just the CAD/CAM/Mach 3 and general terminology of CNC. So, I saved off the MechMate plans and decided that I would build a smaller MDF based CNC machine and see how well that worked and if I could master the necessary skills. Well, I did build the smaller CNC machine and faired pretty well (see attached). I was amazed at what I could do with such a basic machine.