PDA

View Full Version : Laser cutting in various countries . . . .

vadeem
Sat 28 October 2006, 12:50
Gerald,

With more drawings to come, is it safe to have the car plans laser cut, or should we wait?

And if we cut the metric car plans, will they still fit the inch plans for the rest of the mech?

I'd hate to pay to have the parts cut out and find that the design has not been finalized.

Gerald_D
Sat 28 October 2006, 13:42
Vadeem, the laser drawings you have already downloaded are exactly the same ones I used for the first MechMate - I have high confidence in them. But, I live in a metric country and I have no experience of how the subtle difference material sizes will affect you. Eg. we have 100x50 rectangular tube, you have 4"x2" - so your tubes are 1.6% bigger than ours. I don't think it is a problem, but I won't know until someone has actually tried it.

In the next couple of hours I will post a lot of drawings. You are going to see small changes to the laser cuts already, but they are really small (removed surplus holes, added some that can easily be drilled). If you really study and check the drawings, you should be able to get your own confidence without just taking my word for it. http://www.mechmate.com/Forum/clipart/happy.gif

fabrica
Sat 18 November 2006, 05:38
CNC laser cutting machines are almost non existant in this country. I contacted several machine shops who have CNC milling machines. They have quoted around US $ 600 for all components which have to be CNC cut. The steel to be supplied by me. How does this pricing compare with the pricing other guys in this forum have got from their CNC laser shops.

Gerald_D
Sat 18 November 2006, 06:10
We have a problem.......http://www.mechmate.com/Forum/clipart/sad.gif I thought CNC laser would be fairly common.