PDA

View Full Version : Working On A Drag Knife for Vinyl! #117 - Bassett, VA

Pages : [1] 2 3

Tom Ayres
Sun 05 April 2009, 17:22
Hello all,

Thought I'd introduce myself, Tom Ayres, master woodworker by trade. My knowlege of cnc's is small, I almost bought a unit for $175K for my business. I just couldn't justify the $6k+/mth payment, quite an unsettling feeling of that kind of debt. Glad I didn't, but in the research process learned how much I need to learn...

Thought I'd apply my need for learning, so i've taken up electronics, my 11 year old son is into computers and has an interest in robotics. What better way to combine the two and my focus on detail, teach my son and myself something thats a strong life lesson and not to mention something that is also potential money generator!

Overall still very new to this and any support is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Tom

Medemt
Sun 05 April 2009, 18:59
Hey Tom,

I am very new to this site myself. I found it by accident one day and I have not stopped reading posts and making a few Inquiries. I also spend a fair bit of time studying the drawings and relating them to the threads on this site. I am getting costs for all of the components and working out other logistical issues. Since I am travelling alot right now with my job, I will not start anything until I know I can put maximum effort into it.

I will say that this is a great site. There are some really great folks here and they seem to being so willing to help each other out. I have talked directly with some and am making arrangements to visit some guys that are either making a machine or have one running. Don't be shy about asking questions. As I said people here are very wiling to help. I have asked some dumb questions and have not been made to feel like an idiot - a sign of a quality group of people.

I spent a fair bit of time in Basset,Virginia year ago at the Furniture plant.

Well, look forward to seeing your build record. Good luck.

Dan

sailfl