PDA

View Full Version : Gantry and Y Car Welded! - Smiths Station, AL

1planeguy
Thu 08 March 2012, 17:08
Getting ready to start a MM project... Built a BuildyourCNC Blackfoot router and am ready to build a manly machine:-) Am in the US...actually about a 2 hour drive from Metalhead, so shipping shouldn't be too high :-)
Am a structural steel draftsman by trade, do fabrication design in a 3d modeling program called Tekla Structures. That being said I have plenty of steel contacts and access to some impressive equipment. Shop I contract to has 2 different CNC fab lines...they can cut and drill structural shapes up to 36 inches tall without a man laying a hand on it. Am planning on building a bolt together base frame to allow moving without a hernia or a forklift. With the access to the beam line I can bolt it as accurate as I can weld it...
Am planning a 4x12 cutting area for thin aluminum sheet...as someone else mentioned a few months ago, I too am a airplane guy. Am planning on using he router to fab skins (cut to shape and drill pilot holes)
Probably more info than needed...will be throwing questions as things get rolling

WTI
Thu 08 March 2012, 17:35
The bolt together idea has great appeal to may people.

Maybe you can fab your design and Metalhead can sell it as a RTA kit?

1planeguy
Thu 08 March 2012, 17:41
Will see...gonna get it modeled in the next few days

MetalHead
Thu 08 March 2012, 18:06
Wazup Bama boyeee !!! Welcome to the team!

TechGladiator
Fri 09 March 2012, 00:32
Welcome to the team!!.. I just finished my bolt down machine a couple weeks ago..

smreish
Fri 09 March 2012, 04:11