PDA

View Full Version : Updated to Rack and Pinion from Chain Drive #62 - Fort Wayne, IN USA

scot
Tue 11 May 2010, 20:55
Hello everyone! My name is Scot. I live in Fort Wayne, IN in a repurposed Firestation. We live in the top floor, and my shop is on the ground floor. I worked as a Honda mechanic for quite a few years, but recently moved the business to a building next door, and it is now being run by a friend.
I have been working on a Mechmate for several weeks now with my nephew Collin (user name cmd1991). It is for him and his Dad, and they will be using it primarily to cut cabinet parts. We have a rolling gantry and Y car so far.
I will be posting pictures and more information soon in the "Construction Started" thread.

scot
Tue 11 May 2010, 21:39
I guess I will start posting a few pictures here for now.
The first one shows how we leveled our x tubing with jacks and a level.
Next we measured out our cross piece supports and welded them.

The second picture is happening because we accidently ordered our tubing the wrong length. :eek: oh well:p

The third picture shows our method of cutting the rails. We clamped the angle iron to the inside of our tubing, and held our grinder vertically so we could push down. We used a wood block for the base on our grinder when we started, but ended up switching to a metal one. We found it worth the time to make guards for these grinder setups :cool:

I think If we did it again, I would try the skill saw method. We went through 12 Harbor Freight cutoff discs. I wish I would have known about the perfd Inox discs. It may have been worth it. For the grinding we used 4 or 5 Aluminum oxide discs from Harbour Freight. They seemed to work very well.
Keep in mind that this is a very time consuming project. Collin spent around 4 or 5 days cutting and grinding. What a mess too.

Gerald D
Tue 11 May 2010, 23:45
Welcome Scot, have merged the posts in the Construction started section.

cmd1991
Wed 12 May 2010, 16:07