PDA

View Full Version : Art has passed away RIP #2 - Lancaster Texas

Arthur Ransom
Fri 05 January 2007, 06:02
I am Art Ransom located in Lancaster, TX on the south side of Dallas. I am a retire network engineer (mainframe, Novell and Microsoft) and I started my business TurningARound on 2001 as a tax write off for shop and toys. I do custom and architectural woodturning and am having a great time. I have been using a Legacy Ornamental Mill and reached the point where it is boring and machine doesn?t have the capacity to do what I want. After researching CNC I decided to build my own, a commercial machine to do what I wanted was 200K. Unfortunately I didn?t discover MechMate till I was 95% complete on my DIY machine. Plan on starting a MechMate around the middle of 2007. My machine is teaching me a lot of things not to do.
I need a machine that will turn a 24? by 12? column along with fluting, rope/barley twist and carving. The bad part is I have not found anyone that is doing woodturning so any suggestions that you metal turning guys have please let me know. My web site is www.turningaround.org (http://www.turningaround.org) and am documenting my machine on it.

fabrica
Thu 18 January 2007, 11:14
Dear Arthur,

Your stuff looks super. Maybe One day I will need to have a indexer fixed to the mechmate which I am developing at the mement. At that moment of time I may need your inputs.

Arthur Ransom
Sat 12 May 2007, 10:00
I started building prior to finding this site and I used 4" box for the frame. Now I have started building the Mechmate gantry and have made it too narrow. The photo has a 1/2" piece of Al taped to the frame for reference. Open to sugestions to correct my oops.
http://www.mechmate.com/Forum/messages/9/15213.jpg

Gerald_D
Mon 14 May 2007, 08:31
Sorry Art, can't think of anything simpler than lengthening the gantry, or making the table narrower. http://www.mechmate.com/Forum/clipart/sad.gif

Arthur Ransom
Mon 14 May 2007, 11:11