PDA

View Full Version : New Website, R/C Flight Boxes & Custom Pendant #25 - Minnesota

Pages : [1] 2

Rad Racer
Sun 16 November 2008, 10:44
Hi,

Just getting started on my MM build.....although this is not my first CNC machine build, it is the biggest build to date.

I should probably introduce myself before I start rambling on about this project. I am electrical engineer by trade...have been for ~25years, but really enjoy mechanical engineering. Seems the two go together very well, electro-mechanical engineering :)

I am hoping to build this machine on the cheap, by using many of the parts collected over the years. The attached photo's show some of what my wife affectionately calls junk :rolleyes: This stuff came from various machines I have disassembled.....much will work perfect for this project.

If you look close you will see a box of new (14) BWC dualvee wheels, unfortunately they are 4x size.....l hope to save a little money and somehow make them work.

Looking forward to meeting you guys and learning from those that have already completed their machines

Wayne

Rad Racer
Sun 16 November 2008, 10:53
My pile of junk;) to be used for my MM build.

Rad Racer
Sun 16 November 2008, 11:01
Here's my other machines.

The MDF router is a little crude, it was built about 6 years ago......the MM will replace it.

The mini CNC is rev. 3, I had to build two others to get it right:o

Rad Racer
Sun 16 November 2008, 11:17
These are my other machines, they will be used to build the MM.

The first is a Van Norman #12, ~1950's machine that is built like a tank. Got this from a guy on Craig's List for $500usd delivered:eek:

The other is my Logan lathe, got this one for free:p It needed a lot of cleaning, but it turned out great.

Well that's a little about me and my machines.....really looking forward to this project.

I will stop showing off now and get down to work:D
Wayne

Kobus_Joubert
Sun 16 November 2008, 11:33